West Glos & Dean Forest
Motor Cycle Club

Celebrating 66 Years of Motor Cycling 1953 - 2019

Club Enduro & Rally Championship - 2018

Words: Rod Jones.
Page index: Info, Rod's Nod, Gallery, Current Standings Chart, Previous Podiums.


See what is planned for 2019.

Eligibility - Must be a WG member for the current year and will need to claim points at a club meeting. See Current Members. (See update to eligibility in Rod's Nod below.)

Facebook - there is a closed group frequented by some of the combatants. Try this link. NB: You do not 'have' to join this group, we will try to keep you up to speed on this public page where information about the championship should be found. (ed.)

FINAL Score Table Updates now done - Final results were announced at a Club meeting last night to confirm that the mighty Vess has been toppled. Mike Allen wins by ONE point!

Micky Wells won the 2017 and first WGDFMCC Rally & Enduro Championship. It was a close thing with Denver Rollings just a handful of points adrift in second place, in fact one more scoring event could have seen a different outcome!

Award presentation was at the Sporting Review Dinner.

13 club members contested the championship over 18 events. We should all be pleased with that!

The 2018 championship was discussed at the last club meeting and it was agreed that there would be 10 ACU-only events in the championship with the best 8 to count. (See Rod's Nod below for update). Scoring system as per ACU Enduro championship.

i.e. from 1st down to 15th club member - 20,17,15,13,11,10,9,6,7,6,5,4,3,2,1.

The 2018 rounds are; (Click the date to go to organising club's website)

Check dates with ACU website and organisers, any changes or updates will be shown here. Hope you all like em.

Get Involved - Any questions and Id be pleased to answer. Cheers, Rod. (email: rodmonmouth@hotmail.co.uk)

Rod's Nod (of approval)

We will add Rod's updates and comments here as the year progresses....

It was a close contest right up to the end, with Mike Allen taking a second place just over one minute behind best West Glos rider Micky Wells on the Hafren Rally. That was enough to make Mike the champion. If a fully fit Vess had managed to contest the last couple of events it could have been closer, but there's always next year.

OK. Big Update time - After the last Club Meeting it was agreed to add a couple of extra rounds. The Tour of Mann 29/30th Sept and the Hafren Rally 21st Oct. It will still be best 8 rounds to count though. Also, Points must be claimed in person at the Orepool on any club night within 8 weeks of the event supported by copy of results. Online results are acceptable.

An additional award "The Orepool Mug" for the highest scoring member regularly attending club nights. This mug includes a pint of the winner's choice on every club night for a year.


If we get any shots from any of the events then we can bang them in here.

Current Standings

We have prepopulated the list with last year's contenders and the expected rounds. Keep us up to speed if you book an entry and claim your points by contacting the Championship coordinator Rod Jones at club meetings. Colour denotes a Rally event.

Last Updated: 07jan2019
Hover over heading to see event name.
* means 'On the Entry List' or 'Not claimed points yet'

Rider Snowrun Drovers Corinium Caio W2D Brechfa Powys BeaconsToMHafren Bovington Tot
Mike Allen - KTM17 20   20201717 111
Ian Vessey - Gas Gas131717 20 131713  110
Anthony Moore - Haines Fantic/Gas Gas2020*   17    57
Mick Wells - Husqvarna    15 2020 55
Peter Neale - Gas Gas15    11    26
Steve Cooper     15  15
Ian Wixon - Beta      11  11
Lewis Simpson - KTM*****     -
Denver Rollings - KTM*** *  **  -
Simon Ellway*         
Grant Smith*         
Gavin Bailey          
Rod Jones - Beta         
Brendon Kedward - KTM         
Rob Breakwell - KTM         
Guy Calderwood         
Kevin Jones         
Ben Falconer - Gas Gas          
Grant Baldwin  *       
Jeremy Baldwin  *       

Previous Podiums

2018Mike AllenIan VesseyAnthony Moore
2017Micky WellsDenver RollingsMike Allen